In or out?

I think next spring I will fill the wheelbarrow starting with these pretty little white flowers. There are some blue ones left, but they didn’t do as well. However, I think I’ll try to add some different colors to the white ones that are flowing from the wheelbarrow. They certainly made a nice show on the corner of the house.

The petunias did pretty well, but not like last year. I will have to work on better hanging baskets for the porch. The impatiens didn’t do as well either in the hanging baskets as they are beginning to bloom well now at summer’s end. The coleus are beautiful and I’m contemplating bringing them inside for the winter. We’ll see how that works out as the seasons begin to change.

I had all kinds of good intentions for today; however, things went askew. It is a good thing that there will probably be tomorrow to work on the things that didn’t get done today. I suppose that is one of the good things about not having to pack up every day, get in the vehicle and tromp off to be locked into a place of work. I don’t miss that procedure at all.

In fact the idea of putting myself into a locked situation rather frightens me any more. I realized that yesterday at the faculty meeting. There we were inside Neville Hall on the University of Maine campus sitting around a table discussing. The company wasn’t the problem. I enjoy my colleagues; however, the idea that if I were to teach in-class I would find myself in a building and classroom with the outside out there. I would probably be able to see outside; however, it isn’t the same as being outside or the ability to go in and out.

I saw myself as a cat. I’m sure that the routine of an outside/inside cat that does not make up its mind at the door sometimes gets a little help to make that decision. But I pictured stopping at the door to enter and thinking about whether or not there would be the ability to leave. However, the reverse may be as decision wrought as well. In or out, what is it?

I’m reminded of people who are wheelchair bound as well. Is it in or out? If I’m unable to physically make that choice on my own then how do I get in and out? Do I muddle up to a door and hope that it will mysteriously open or shut for me? Automatic doors are on some buildings, but not all are wheelchair accessible. And certainly not in one’s own home, well, unless you’re able to have an elevator the size of a car installed which insures that you’d have access no matter what you were in whether it be wheelchair or one of a couple Cadillacs. I won’t have to worry about that because I’m not one of the 1% in the country that can afford a couple of anything and certainly not a luxury vehicle.

In addition, an in-class assignment has become more frightening through the years. It is important to know how to get out of a classroom in an emergency. The atmosphere in a classroom has changed significantly. The idea of being locked into a room with 20+/- students of unknown backgrounds, personalities, and habits leaves little room for error when challenged. The image of being dependent upon the opening of a door to escape without help is a dire consideration. This is not a world of civility in which someone will open the door, or offer to push the wheelchair. It is a frightening world.


Copyright © 2011

Leave a Reply

